100 POINT ASSIGNMENTS vs. 10 POINT ASSIGNMENTS?

Like every other higher education institution, mine requires formally assessing the quality of student contributions via assignment of a grade. I had a little chuckle when I started my graduate program and realized that the point total for most courses is 100 in comparison to around 1,000 points for undergraduate classes. Are graduate students -90% extrinsically motivated to meet assignment requirements and instructor expectations? Does assigning a 4.7 send a significantly different message to the learner than a 94? The apparent logic behind this sorta cracks me up. I’m afraid to say that too loudly; however, for fear that a zillion PDF research articles supporting the practice will show up in my inbox. Disclaimer: I have not done a lit search on outcomes from varying assessment point levels; though if anyone out there has, I am interested in your findings.

Comments are closed.