Blogging and the Writing-Challenged

Classes officially ended for me on Thursday, upon completion of a three-hour final exam for Applied Statistics. To celebrate, my daughter and I made it to see a live performance of The Nutcracker with about ten minutes to spare! Grades are not the only

See that up there? This is the last post that I was working on. It was the middle of December and I got interrupted. Now, upon my return after what seems like forever, I don’t even remember what mildly profound things I intended to say about grades. (Is there even such a thing as a mildly profound statement on grades?) All I can tell you is that the intended title, My Top 3 List for Adult Online Learners: Organize, Prioritize, Communicate, held promise that is now long gone. The thing about blogging is that you really need to be diligent about making the time to write when the mood strikes and the topic is fresh. This, I obviously failed to do. Wait too long and a few words are all there is to show for the lost opportunity.

I enjoy the experience of blogging much more than I ever imagined; however, it is also more time-consuming than I ever expected! Not only that, but I am what I kindly refer to as “writing-challenged.” Sure, I can do it, but it is not a sleek process with an eloquent result. For me, writing is more like building Hogwarts out of Legos. Sure, it can be done, but you’re probably going to need a blueprint, some sticky notes, and a MacGyver-like ingenuity.

Graduate school may have greatly improved my academic writing skills (and it has), but this blog is a far cry from scholarly writing. I am using a contraction in this sentence, so it can’t be! Still, I meticulously select every word. I carefully consider meanings. I make every effort to avoid miscommunication. It has always been this way. I am envious of those people who can just sit down and start typing. For me, writing is a real effort and it requires all of my attention. The advantage, I believe, is that my efforts at avoiding miscommunication help me to be a better communicator online. :-)

Comments are closed.